Black and White Are Only Two Colors Among Millions

Adam Bertram
3 min readJun 28, 2019

For IT professionals, engineers, all of us logical left-brain people. We have a natural tendency to either say something is right or something is wrong. You’re either smart or you’re dumb; black or white, there is not gray in the world for a lot of engineers.

If that sounds familiar to you, that’s how I am. But, as of the past few years I guess, I’ve gotten better at my YouTube video on marketing. This is a struggle I’ve dealt with for a very long time that I’m sure if you’re an IT pro/engineer, somebody of that caliber, I’m sure you have too.

Let’s say you get to work and a co-worker comes up with some kind of solution, maybe. And you immediately think that’s wrong. Or, let’s say you use a PowerShell alias versus the full command line name.

Code is definitely a big example of the whole left-brain right or wrong mentality. You know we’re all about coding styles. You should use semicolons; you should not use semicolons. Tabs versus space is a good one right there. It’s either, you’re right or you’re wrong.

I think that it’s something that a lot of people, like myself, really need to do better at. We need to be okay with the squishy stuff. Ask some questions about things. Your brain is going to immediately think, “that’s wrong, change it; you should do something different, that is…

--

--

Adam Bertram

A 20-year veteran of IT, crypto geek, content creator, consultant and overall problem solver.