Screw the Status Quo

Adam Bertram
6 min readJun 16, 2019

I would like to talk about the dangers of “fitting in” or going with the status quo, just trying to fit the mold of something that society thinks you should be. So, what do I mean by that?

I mean in a career or work environment, for example, a lot of people that I grew up with, and I am sure a lot of people that you grew up with, tended to expect you to go to college after high school and get a job. After you got that job, maybe they expected you to stay at that same job, or hop around jobs just a little bit, but always expect you to have a job. In other words, work your nine-to-five, go to work at eight or nine, come home at five spend time with the family, eat dinner, and watch some TV.

On the weekends, just kind of mill around maybe even work on some home projects on the house and do things like that.

Let me state before I get started this is no offense to anyone that actually does that, that is completely fine, but it is just not me and I think that kind of attitude is almost detrimental to your career.

I think that if you truly want to have success in your career and have success at work and to truly make the world a better place you need to be able to put in more hours than the standard 30 or 40 hours, at least at first.

There comes a point where you have to say I want to be truly successful in what…

--

--

Adam Bertram

A 20-year veteran of IT, crypto geek, content creator, consultant and overall problem solver.