Start Small to Overcome Anxiety and Depression

Adam Bertram
3 min readJun 26, 2019

The disease of recurring anxiety and depression can change a person if it lets you. Not for the better but for, the worse. Depression is a serious condition that many individuals struggle with every day. I’m “lucky” enough to only fight that fight a few times in my life, and unfortunately, when my brain decides to go down that road, it doesn’t take into consideration my scheduled commitments. Doesn’t it know I’ve got stuff to do?!?

When that feeling hits, you’ll do anything to make it stop without regard for the importance of the event or how it may make you look afterward. You’ll do whatever it takes to get better and, as I wrote in my previous blog post, that commitment was to step out of the PowerShell Summit speaking gig I had scheduled.

With that being said though, I present the Courtyard hotel on Wednesday evening, and some believed that this was a slap in the face for the PowerShell community. I can understand this, but my reasons need some explanation.

When someone struggles with episodes of anxiety and depression, it takes a lot of energy just to keep up with daily life. With someone in my position that has lots of commitments and sometimes struggles with way too much work to do, these commitments exacerbate these problems. However, the best way to get out of this state is just to keep rolling with life…

--

--

Adam Bertram

A 20-year veteran of IT, crypto geek, content creator, consultant and overall problem solver.